Mastodon Reveals Mammoth New Single 'Fallen Torches'

If Mastodon's new single, "Fallen Torches," is any indication, the Grammy-winning prog metal band's next studio album is going to be a behemoth of an LP.

But until there's a new Mastodon full-length, fans have the band's Medium Rarities collection (available Sept. 11 via Reprise Records) to look forward to.

Medium Rarities is the band's first try at a career-spanning collection of previously-unreleased material.

"Fallen Torches" is the lone new song on the 16-track set, which also includes rare covers, soundtrack contributions, instrumentals, B-sides and live recordings.

Recorded last year in the band's hometown of Atlanta, Georgia, "Fallen Torches" immediately evokes the Mastodon's wild, sludgy Remission or Leviathan-era sound in the main riff before it blasts off into a brave new shimmering chorus.

Bassist Troy Sanders and drummer Brann Dailor alternate lead vocal duties in the verses and choruses, respectively. In the bridge, the band turns lead vocal duties over to Neurosis' Scott Kelly — a longtime collaborator whose signature bellow appears on some of the band's most revered material.

Listen to "Fallen Torches" in the player above!

Get the track list for Medium Rarities below:

Medium Rarities track listing:

  1. Fallen Torches (Previously Unreleased)
  2. A Commotion (Feist Cover)
  3. Asleep in the Deep (Instrumental version)
  4. Capillarian Crest (Live)
  5. A Spoonful Weighs A Ton (The Flaming Lips Cover)
  6. Toe To Toes (Instrumental version)
  7. Circle of Cysquatch (Live)
  8. Atlanta (Butthole Surfers Cover)
  9. Jaguar God (Instrumental)
  10. Cut You Up With A Linoleum Life (Aqua Teen Hunger Force)
  11. Blood & Thunder (Live)
  12. White Walker (from Game of Thrones mix tape)
  13. Halloween (Instrumental version)
  14. Crystal Skull (Live)
  15. Orion (Metallica Cover)
  16. Iron Tusk (Live)

Photo: Mastodon

Photo: Mastodon

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content